PDA

View Full Version : 1494 - Replacing Deteriorated Seat Welt

Pat Marshall
08-17-2021, 06:07 PM
The passenger seat back welt has deteriorated on my #1494. While very dusty the upholstery on the seat is in otherwise good condition.

Has anyone had any experience (success) in replacing welting?

Barry Wolk
08-17-2021, 09:01 PM
Why yes, yes I have. I'm an amateur upholsterer. Welting replacement is one of the easier tasks because the sewing holes are 66% all there.

Welting is vinyl or leather or cloth that is wrapped around a core of plastic or rope of some kind. You simply cut a 1 1/2" wide strip of leather and coat the strip with contact adhesive, except the center 1/2". Fold the material over the center cord and press the halves together. If you sew strips together you can make a continuous length. You can thin the leather in the area of the splice to minimize the thickness. On the Mark II they had full skins so the strips are continuous. I might suggest a modern vinyl that feels like leather. You can then make seamless welts.

When you cut the threads keep as much of the welt together as you can to use it for a pattern. Note that you'll need to notch the new welt to make the corner turns. You'll need a leather awl and some upholstery-specific thread. Use a thimble, or you'll be sorry. Look at the way the the sewing is accomplished and duplicate it. It's simple to get started. Line up the two pieces of leather to be sewn together. Punch a hole the appropriate distance back from the cord on the welt and send a needle and thread through the hole to position the parts. Using the awl in the next hole create a pathway through the welt. Keep doing that until you're done. I sometimes use a single needle and thread and sometimes two, sending both threads through the same hole in opposite directions.